Traveling from Europe (Cyprus) to Orlando, Florida

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Traveling from Europe (Cyprus) to Orlando, Florida

So I've searched the net high and low and figured out that apart from a basic vet check-up and paperwork I don't need much. I'm in a rabies free country, and it's also worm free (forgot the name of the worm), so I don't need either shot. What I was trying to figure out was, is that all I'll need? I feel like I'm missing something and I don't want the process to go wrong. I've read that it also varies state to state, so would Florida have any specific regulations?

I'm a student in the States and would like to take my dog with me as my dad cannot care for it anymore (he has a thyroid problem, nothing major that would prevent travel, but needs constant care (pills), something my dad cannot do).

Would me being a student impact my ability to 'import' him? Do I just buy him a ticket, and then get his passport and that's it? I've never flown with a pet before so I have no clue how any of this goes but there was no concise and simple guide online, everything let to multiple different pages for different resources and I just want to know I'm on the right path.

Re: Traveling from Europe (Cyprus) to Orlando, Florida

You will need to have your dog vaccinated for rabies a minimum of 30 days prior to entering the US. This is a Federal and State of Florida requirement. You will also need a health certificate issued within 10 days of travel.

You will need to notify an airline that flies the entire route and tell them you are traveling with a pet. Unless your dog is very large, it can travel as checked baggage or in the cabin if it is small enough. Either way, contact the reservations number of your airline.

Comment

Originally posted by admin View Post
      You will need to have your dog vaccinated for rabies a minimum of 30 days prior to entering the US. This is a Federal and State of Florida requirement.